Olympic Taekwondo & Self Defense Training Center

You need Flash Player in order to view this.

Olympic Taekwondo best of

Olympic Taekwondo , the best action!

Early Koreans developed unique martial art forms for unarmed self defense to complement their skills with weapons. The first recorded evidence of what was to become modern Taekwondo is found about two thousand years ago in Korean history. A mural painting from the Koguryu Kingdom (37 B.C to 66 A.D.) was found in a tomb believed to have been built sometime during the period 3 to 427 A.D . This mural depicts figures practicing martial arts techniques. Historical records from this Koguryu period also mention the practice of martial arts techniques and tournaments. The early forms had different names, such as Kwonbak, Bakhi, Dangsoo, Taesoo and Kongsoo.

From about 600 A.D. to about 1400, the mainstream dominant form was Soobak, which further evolved into Taekyon beginning in the late 1300s. Taekyon was the dominant Korean martial art form until the Japanese invasion and occupation of Korea in 1909. From 1909 to 1945, the Japanese suppressed Korean culture and martial arts, and introduced Japanese culture and martial arts.


 Tae- A system of foot techniques

Kwon- A system of hand techniques

Do - The art of experiencing the ultimate being through physical and metaphysical enlightenment

Put simply, Taekwondo 

means 'foot, fist, way'.

  Taekwon-do Today

Taekwondo is widely practiced throughout the world. It is now a recognized Olympic sport since the Sydney Olympics in 2000 after featuring as a demonstration sport at the Seoul Winter Olympics in 1988. The popularity of Taekwondo continues to grow through a network of local, national and international clubs


Courtesy(to be kind) - (Ye Ul)

Integrity (to be honest) - (Yom Chi)

Perseverance (nevergive up) - (In Nae)

Self-Control (control the body with the mind) - (Guk Gi)

Indomitable Spirit(Incapable of being overcome or subdued) - (Baekjul Boolgool)


as it's recited before every class:

I shall observe the tenets of Taekwondo.

I shall respect my instructors and seniors.

I shall never misuse Taekwondo.

I will be a champion of freedom and justice.

I will build a more peaceful world.

I shall achieve the rank of Black belt.

Counting in Korean  

  • One - Hana "Ha-na"
  • Two - Dul "Dhool"
  • Three - Set "Set"
  • Four - Net "Net"
  • Five - Dasot "Da-sut"
  • Six - Yasot "Yo-sut"
  • Seven - Ilgup "Eel-gope"
  • Eight - Yodol "Yo-dull"
  • Nine - Ahop "Ah-hope"
  • Ten - Yeol "Yull"
  • For 11 through 19, add the Korean word for 10 in front of the last number. Therefore, twelve is "Yull Dhool" which the Korean words for 10 "Yull" and 2 "Dhool". Fifteen is 10 + 5 or "Yull Da-sut" and eighteen is 10 + 8 or "Yull Yo-dull".
  • Twenty - Seu-Mool

Important Taekwondo Korean Words or Commands

  • Yell - Kihap "Kee-yah-p"
  • Thank you - Kamsa Hamnae Da "Kamsa-ham-ni-da"
  • Master - Sabomnim "Sah-bum-nim"
  • Return (as in turn & face the Master at the end of your form) - "Ba-ro"
  • Bow - Kyungnet
  • Attention - Charyut "Chari-yut"
  • Punch - Chirugi
  • Kick - Chagi "Cha-gee"
  • Uniform - Dobok
  • Taekwondo School - Dojang
  • Ready Stance - Joon bi

Korean Names for Taekwondo Kicks

  • Front Kick - Ap-Chagi "Ap-cha-gee"
  • Side Kick - Yeop-Chagi "Yup-cha-gee"
  • Roundhouse Kick - Dollyo-Chagi "Dole-ya-cha-gee"
  • Back Kick - Dwi-Chagi "D-we-cha-gee"
  • Spinning Hook Kick - Dwi Huryo Chagi
  • Push Kick - Meereo Chagi
  • Axe Kick - Naeryeo Chagi
  • Crescent Kick - Bandal Chagi


Belt Color Symbolism

1.) White Belt (10th Kup) - White signifies the innocence of the beginner and his ignorance of Taekwondo.

2.) White Belt with Yellow Stripe (9th Kup)

3.) Yellow Belt (8th Kup) - Yellow represents the earth, from where a plant takes root and sprouts as the foundations of Taekwondo are laid.

4.) Yellow Bel twith Green Stripe (7th Kup)

5.) Green Belt (6th Kup) - Green signifies the plant itself as, like a plant, the student's Taekwondo skills continue to grow.

6.) Green Belt with Blue Stripe (5th Kup)

7.) Blue Belt (4th Kup) - Blue represents the heavens above, the divine direction in which the plant is growing.

8.) Blue Belt with Red Stripe (3rd Kup)

9.) Red Belt (2nd Kup) - Red signifies danger, warning the student of his own capability for damage and other students of his skill.

10.) Red Belt with Black Stripe (1st Kup)

Black Belt (1st Dan) he is considered to be a senior. Black is the opposite of white and therefore signifies the student's maturity and skill. It also signifies his mastery over darkness - that he is no longer afraid of evil or fear itself. From here on in the belts no longer change color.